Mixed emotions fill my heart today.  I’m staying up, prolonging what tomorrow will bring.  As a teacher, I have spent most of my career in such a fabulous place.  Thamesford Public School, has been wonderful to me.  It will be tough to leave close friends and a caring community for the great unknown.

I do look forward to something fresh, since that’s what life is all about.  Change is good, and it’s time I had some.  So, I look forward to shorter drives, longer family time, and fresh faces at my new school.

Teachers become attached to their schools.  We gain friends and familiarity, which makes work feel like family time.  We watch our students learn and grow as they move through their education journey. Tonight I attended grad and was so inspired by the passion and drive those graduates displayed.

Cheers! To new beginnings!

I’ll leave you with the goodbye poem I plan to say tomorrow during the final assembly.  I hope I don’t cry when I’m up there since they call me concrete around there. Oh well, even concrete cracks…so let’s just wait-and-see what happens.

P.S. If you’re a teacher….or just curious, stop by my classroom website and check-out our stop motion animation art work.  It was great fun! Click on “Ms. Solway’s,” below in the poem title.

 

Thamesford Public School Thunderbirds

Ms. Solway’s Tribute to the T-Birds

I walked into TPS just nine years ago,
A fresh teacher ready to begin.
I was relaxed by all the friendly TPS staff,
And that helped me find ways to pitch in.

Coaching volleyball was such a natural choice,
The athletes so eager and nice.
First coaching the girls, then the boys,
Such energy and drive added spice.

As the years wore on, my teaching grew,
And balanced literacy became all the rave.
That’s when School Council stepped up to the plate,
Thunderwalk money is what they gave.

Along came Ms. De Vree to take on music,
A school show turned me into a believer.
TPS students – sure do give it their best,
So clear when they caught that show fever!

Grade 5, Grade 5/6, Grade 6, even 4/5,
Students learning with passion and fun.
Learning cycles with teaching staff came ‘round,
We found ways to Bump-Up everyone.

Hmm. Time for a break from this fabulous school,
I think… I’ll head on downtown.
To that big board office where opportunity knocks,
I’ll try on the Literacy coach crown.

People are so serious and official down there,
Not as nice as all of you here.
So, back I came for more volleyball and shows,
Terry Fox, and Remembrance Day cheer.

So many friends I look out there and see,
How is it – I’ve decided to go?
All the fun memories and wonderful people sitting there,
And students I have come to know.

So, TPS please don’t change even one thing,
I love your good hearts and nature.
Thunderbirds soar up high over it all,
Excellence is what you should wager.

So long for now, we’ll see each other again,
For the world is so small don’t you see?
Eight great years as a soaring Thunderbird,
Has been a real privilege for me.

