“Every single life only becomes great when the individual sets upon a goal or goals which they really believe in, which they can really commit themselves to, which they can put their whole heart and soul into.” ~Brian Tracy

“I put my heart and my soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process.” ~ Vincent Van Goh

I have always respected, admired, and consulted those who put their heart and soul into what they do. Putting your heart and soul into what you do helps you to get the most out of life. The words of Brian Tracy (above) have reverberated in my mind time and time again. For life to be great, don’t we need to set goals and commit ourselves to fulfilling them? Our goals might pertain to our personal life– becoming a better spouse, parent, sibling, or self. Our goals could also pertain to our future, career, or health. All things considered, putting your heart and soul into things is a LOT OF WORK! So much of what we read, watch and view these days; is telling everyone to slow down, find balance, and get priorities straight. Yet, for careers to flourish and for families to be happy we seem to need to put our heart and soul into everything we do!

I applied for a new position in our school board as a Learning Coordinator for Literacy. The position calls for leadership, knowledge, skills, and drive. The Learning Coordinator is a person who is constantly networking, planning, organizing, designing, communicating, scheduling, researching, writing, and presenting. Geepers! It’s no wonder I was dying to get the job, right? I do these things all the time…even when creating a grocery list!

I love teaching. That is no secret to my colleagues or my students. I do put my heart and soul into the planning, research, pedagogy, and delivery of most things that I teach or present. So, when I saw the posting for a Learning Coordinator, I put my heart and soul into the application process too. When I got the call, offering an interview, I was tickled pick! I threw my heart and soul into the next phase of the process. I networked, consulted, researched…and I of course went shopping for a new suit and shoes 😉 You’ve got to read (or reread) my post about “public speaking“.

Well, the interview went well and I really felt good coming out of it. I put my heart and soul into developing a response to the case study, and then I confidently answered all questions. I put my heart and soul into this whole opportunity to share my knowledge and passion. When I stood up to leave the board room, I looked into the eyes of my panel interviewers and I was at ease with how I handled myself. They appeared to be satisfied and engaged with all that I had to say.

WE become great “…when the individual sets upon a goal or goals which they really believe in, which they can really commit themselves to, which they can put their whole heart and soul into.”

So, how did it go in the end? Well, I wasn’t selected for the Learning Coordinator position this time around. I felt pretty burned when I first got the news. I immediately began to analyze and reflect on the entire process…looking for a moment where I had slipped-up. It was in these moments where I felt the words of Vincent Van Goh (quote at the top). I had pushed through two weeks of planning and refining, and I came out of it feeling I had lost my mind.

I do play to win…almost always…but you can’t win them all! So, I’m warming up to the “rejection”. It has caused me to reflect on my career and my qualifications. What do I have under my belt? What am I missing? How can I make myself a better candidate next time? This is good. Because, now I’m laying the bricks for a new road. This reminds me of when I wrote the post, Today marks my fork in the…”Road Not Taken”. This time I’ll take the one less traveled. I’ll find new direction, and a new place to throw my heart and soul.

Over the past two days, THREE of my supporters used the phrase, heart and soul in emails and conversations with me. I feel as though this is the message coming back to me, reassuring me. Although I didn’t get what I wanted this time around, I did put my heart and soul into it. This is all that we can ask of ourselves. Do your best and leave nothing in the tank.

Well, other people need me to put my heart and soul into efforts on them. My kids need me, my husband needs me, and I need me. It is tough to…NO….It is unwise to… throw your heart and soul into everything, all the time. But, I think it’s okay to take turns in life. Today I’m going to put my heart and soul into this. Tomorrow I’m going to throw my heart and soul into that.

My new passion is good health, natural nutrition, and personal wellness. My husband started this journey towards natural health, and I’ve jumped on the bandwagon with him. But, that is a post to be written in the future.

What do you throw your heart and soul into?

IMAGE SOURCE: http://www.picsquare.com/buy/teddy-bear/Heart-and-Soul-C1600101-1393

