Over 35 and counting!

Okay everybody, I’m not trying to slam your age…so I’ll tip-toe my way through this blog. Notice the title states that I’m getting older, not OLD. But holy smack! My body just doesn’t hold up like it used to in those fabulous twenties! Not only that, the mind isn’t doin’ so hot either.

I had a birthday a couple of weeks ago. Sh*** I’m getting closer to the big 4-oh!! It’s ok, I’ve still got time…three more years to be exact. Well, if you must know, my inspiration to blog through this kicked me in the shin today. I hate to whine, but, I have officially endured week # 2 of the worst shin-splints I’ve ever had!! OUCH! Now, I wish I could tell you that the shin-splints came about because of the 100 km of running I’m pumping through every week, or the crazy jump training I’ve been doing for my volleyball season opener this Monday…but that would be all lies.

Instead, this old sports injury, has likely flared-up simply because of being on my feet teaching all day, and running (literally) boys’ volleyball try-outs for a week.

Holy mackinaw this hurts!

Never before have shin-splints dropped me like a sack of potatoes…but they did today. Go ahead, ask me where, or why? Yup! I was working my but off in our school computer lab, zipping around like a firefly trying to troubleshoot our ridiculous & primitive computer equipment. The students were flailing their hands up in the air, needing my help with a broken mouse, a lame keyboard, and a haywire data projector!!!

I was trying to push through the burning timbers in my shin. But, the leg was tingling, firing, twitching…then it just gave up. Yup! The leg was fed up of holding me up. My knee kinda buckled, the leg dropped. I only just caught myself before ending up spread eagle on the floor. By this time my lower leg had clearly swelled. The tapered-leg on my cropped paints were no longer gliding as I walked. The cuff of the pant-leg hugged my lower leg tightly. I was kinda embarrassed. Being tough-nut Heidi, I tried to suck in the pain…and not limp along. Well that was impossible. I had to succumb to the battle.Β  I allowed my grade 7 helpers to troubleshoot the machines for the rest of that KINDERGARTEN computer class. Holy cow, those lil’ gaffers know how to use up manpower!! There were two adults and 3 grade 7 students in there, we could barely keep up with those 3 to 5 year-olds. I sat down to try and rest the leg enough before needing to walk the little angels back to their leader πŸ˜‰

So, how did this event lead me to blog about age? Well, it’s one of those body ailments that hammers you, for no explainable reason. Those of you over 35 know what I’m talking about. These things happen. Some days my eyelid twitches involuntarily, other days my knuckles ache uncontrollably, every once in a while my stomach clenches from gas, I can’t remember squat, or my bladder fills up faster than a water balloon (I hope none of my 11-year old students are reading this post). Unexplainable ailments they are. When I was in my 20’s, injuries and illness were easily traced back to their origin. Not anymore. I think I fully understand that annoying cliche, “Gettin’ old!”

Not only that, have you ever noticed that your over-35 body also succumbs to strange psychological phenomena? Ladies? What are these strange things called feelings and emotions? They never used to get in my way before. Feelings and emotions need a great deal of time, care and special material handling. I’ve always been pretty good at having a stiff upper lip. Well, with age (and plenty life hiccups), life events are playing new chords on my guitar. My rock ‘n roll & British rock have made room for ballads and heartstring songs. Some people tell me, “Heidi, that is not you getting old, that’s you getting wise. Feelings – emotions? That is living!” Well they’re a lot if work and tiring. Feelings end up interrupting my highly efficient, perfectionist-workaholic machinery. But I do kinda like ’em. I think my hubby likes them too. My friends probably feel as though they “look” weird on me. Lol.

Dowloading FEELINGS.XP and other upgrades.

I have decided that my body is a lot like a computer at this stage of life. More often than not, I’ve got parts breaking down for no good reason, it’s taking longer and longer for the repairs to work. I have to read-up-on, and get professional help when things don’t work the way I need them too. When my hard drive crashed a little while back? I went in for upgrades. The technician installed a few new hardware pieces (tear ducts & and a gentle pair of hands). Then the final upgrade I received was this swanky new software called, FEELINGS.XP. This program is pretty cool, but it’s got a lot of bugs! I have had the technician look things over and I’m reading the manual more carefully. It seems to interrupt a lot of the other programs I run, and I just don’t know how to handle that. FEELINGS.XP is highly sophisticated. I’ll need to keep the help-desk number handy that’s for sure.

So that’s it! I’m getting older. But, with the unexplainable ailments and my FEELINGS.XP upgrade, life is so interesting. I feel a new sense of engagement with the people around me and the activities I involve myself in. It’s pretty cool. Once I download a few upgrades for my hubby, plus Apps for him to remember the upgrades…his iPhone will alert him for all of the events, celebrations, and important dates that he would otherwise forget. We’re both getting older. Together πŸ™‚

What is your take on getting older?

