RSS

Change is Good!

18 Jun

To exist is to change, to change is to mature, to mature is to go on creating oneself endlessly. ~Henri Bergson

After you’ve done a thing the same way for two years, look it over carefully. After five years, look at it with suspicion. And after ten years, throw it away and start all over. ~Alfred Edward Perlman, New York Times, 3 July 1958.

I wish I could say definitively, that I’ve always been the type who enjoys change. But that would be a white lie. At times my desire to change-things-up, to try something new, or to adjust accordingly have been my best qualities. As a teacher, things pop up out of nowhere, all the time. Planning a school day, down to the minute, is just pointless and very frustrating. We all work in a place where things pop-up and our approach, strategy, technique, or model needs to change. Change equals growth. Change is when we learn new things, and when we learn what we’re made of.

Yes, there are some who know me who would say that I, “go with the flow”, I’m flexible and adaptable, or easygoing. Other people might say I’m highly specific, routine, and consistent…or constant. What I will say though, is I am far from being: rigid, inflexible, controlling (ummm most of the time), or uptight.

I think we all enjoy change, at some point in time. Some of us demand change to be able to stay interested, engaged, or fresh. Others like consistency and routine because it’s comfortable there, or we like to practice and fine-tune things while they stay in one place (that’s me). These people like change…after they feel they’ve absorbed and grown fully from that encounter, or experience. Really, when the target stays in one place, we can practice over-and-over until we hit it. LOL, that sounded a lot like controlling and rigid. Whoops!

When life gets busy, complicated, or too many things are rolling down at once, I get uneasy and feel the chaos coming. I quickly try to CREATE and FIND routines. I look for calm and serenity by creating patterns and predictability. In some instances, I have found this to be very helpful and effective. But some things in life DO NOT lend themselves to patterns, routines, and predictability. So, approaching them as such, leads to failure and frustration. So, this is where it is better to play your flexible and adaptable cards.

What I do believe is this, change keeps things interesting. When things change, I pay attention, I engage, I tune-in, I’m in the moment, I take in the information, I show interest.

Change is good! We all grow with change and we reengage with life. We meet new people, try new things, learn new ways, and find new passion. I’m due for a change. So, after teaching at Thamesford Public School for the past nine years, I am packing up to head to a school closer to home. It is another step closer to simplifying life, so I can have more fun living it!!

What are your views on change?

20120617-235916.jpg

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Change is Good!

  1. Michael

    June 18, 2012 at 5:28 am

    I welcome change. I can adapt to change. Change is always for the better. So to progress, we need to live with and accept change. Glad to note you will be relocating closer to home. New environment. New challenges and probably a change in your lifestyle. Wishing you the very best Heidi !!!

     
    • Life with hiccups

      June 19, 2012 at 1:04 am

      Thanks for visiting and leaving your thoughtful comment. I am looking forward to a new lifestyle for sure. My family will love it too. Home early means we get all three: play time, meal time, bed time fun. Right now, we sometimes only get 2 out of 3. Ahhhh! 7 days until summer break :)

       
  2. Stuartart

    June 18, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    That is a wise outlook you have there. My own views are similar, change where you need to. Reading between the lines that would mean ‘everywhere’. But here’s the thing – some parts of your life might only need tiny adjustments, constant little improvements. Other parts might need complete overhaul. The only constant is change. :)

     
    • Life with hiccups

      June 19, 2012 at 12:54 am

      The only constant is change…I like the sound of that. I think when I remind myself that change is good, or that change means growth…it relaxes me. Fighting change, is a lot like trying to fight the 30 foot high tidal wave. Ya ain’t gonna win!

       
  3. Coach Sue

    June 18, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    Fear of change is what is happening in this country. Not that I’m trying to get political, but knowing personality studies, 50% of the population like tradition, comfort zones, and things to remain the same. Although, I like some things to stay the same, I am all for mixing it up and experimenting with little things that can prepare me for bigger things. Congratulations on making a move toward a simpler life.

    Sue Bock
    http://couragetoadventurecoaching.wordpress.com

     
    • Life with hiccups

      June 19, 2012 at 12:50 am

      Thanks for stopping by, Sue! I have often thrived in times of change and I’m usually at my best under stress (strange). The attention deficit side of me loves change! I actually make great impulsive decisions and the less I think about some things…the better. Change makes me feel alive, and puts me to the test. In times of change, I feel my wings spread wide, catching that warm air current so I can fly high for a long while!

       
  4. Cara

    June 22, 2012 at 12:51 am

    Change rocks! I could not imagine not being to do something awesome just because I resisted change. Having said that, I have learned that I do need some amount of structure and consistency to feel grounded. Once I have that though, I get energized by change and mixing it up! I think it is a personality thing. Ever heard of Myers briggs? Do the test. I think it is the best resource for understanding yourself and others. And it helps explain why some like change why some do not… My guess is thy you are either a ESTP or ENTP. Let’s see!.

     
    • Life with hiccups

      June 22, 2012 at 3:13 am

      Hey Cara! I found a MB test online. I’m an ENFJ. I’m looking forward to
      Reading through more carefully. Some questions are hard because I’m a bit of a chameleon in life and my responses to some things would depend on the “phase” I’m going through :)

      I do adapt to things and change my mindset and state until I am content. Hmmmm. Seems weird eh?

       

Leave a Comment

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

